Legal Information

Legal basis and Dispute Resolution Service for .ch domain names

Mandate from the Federal Office of Communications

SWITCH was the very first registrar for .ch domain names. It successively handed this function over to the accredited registrars when the Ordinance on Internet Domains (OID) came into force. SWITCH continues to manage the database of domain names - the registry - under a mandate from the Federal Office of Communications OFCOM. The Swiss Federal Council regards the registry as a critical infrastructure because Internet communication would be interrupted if it were to fail, and this would practically bring large parts of public life in Switzerland to a standstill. SWITCH is an independent foundation with a great deal of technical expertise in this vital role. It has made .ch one of the most secure Top Level Domains in the world.

General Terms and Conditions (GTC) for the registration and administration of domain names under the domain ".ch" and ".li"

General Terms and Conditions (PDF)

Acceptable Use Policy

Our Acceptable Use Policy governs the conditions for the use of the Whois service to query or process personal data.

When a new domain name is registered, no check is made as to whether it violates any third-party rights. You are responsible for ensuring that your chosen domain name does not violate any rights pertaining to names, trademarks or other distinguishing symbols. Certain terms are legally protected. In particular, the name of a political commune in Switzerland may only be registered by that commune.

The following links will aid your research:

www.zefix.ch Central Business Names Index of Switzerland

www.swissreg.ch Search for Swiss trademarks and applications in the online database of the Federal Institute of Intellectual Property (IGE). This is not a substitute for professional searches because it is not possible to search for similar trademarks and international trademarks with protection in Switzerland.
Professional trademark searches (including searches for similar trademarks and international trademarks with protection in Switzerland) are available privately or through the IGE.

The Dispute Resolution Service for .ch domain names was set up to resolve disputes over the rights to domain names.

More on the Dispute Resolution Service

Registrars for .ch

Registering new .ch domain names: Please select a registrar.
Domain names that are already registered: Please contact the registrar administering your domain name for any changes.

List of all registrars

Domain Name Search (Whois)

Is the domain name you want still available?

Domain Name Search

Informations juridiques

Bases juridiques et service de règlement des différends pour noms de domaine .ch

Mandat de l'Office fédéral de la communication

SWITCH a été le registrar de la première heure pour les noms de domaine .ch. Par suite d'un changement dans l'Ordonnance sur les domaines Internet (ODI), SWITCH a peu à peu cédé cette fonction aux registrars agréés. SWITCH continue de gérer la banque de données avec les noms de domaine, ou registry, pour le compte de l'Office fédéral de la communication OFCOM. Il s'agit, selon le Conseil fédéral, d'une infrastructure critique. Si elle était défaillante, la communication par Internet serait interrompue, ce qui paralyserait pratiquement des parties importantes de la vie publique en Suisse. En qualité de fondation indépendante, SWITCH remplit cette tâche pleine de responsabilités avec beaucoup de compétence technique et veille à ce que le Top Level Domain .ch compte parmi les plus sûrs du monde.

Conditions générales (CG) relatives à l'enregistrement et à la gestion des noms de domaine qui dépendent du domaine ".ch" ou ".li"

Conditions générales au format PDF

Règlement d'utilisation

Le Règlement d'utilisation établit les conditions pour le service Whois, avec lequel les données personnelles peuvent être interrogées et traitées.

Lors de l'enregistrement d'un nouveau nom de domaine, il n'est pas vérifié si des droits de tiers sont violés. Il relève de votre responsabilité de veiller à ce que le nom de domaine souhaité ne porte pas atteinte à des droits de nom, de marque ou de signe avec. Certains termes sont protégés par la loi; en particulier, le nom d'une commune politique de Suisse ne peut être enregistré que par la commune politique du même nom.

Les liens suivants peuvent être utiles à la recherche:

www.zefix.ch Index central des raisons de commerce

www.swissreg.ch Recherche de marques suisses et de demandes d'enregistrement de marques dans la base de données en ligne de l'Institut Fédéral de la Propriété Intellectuelle (IPI). Ne remplace pas une recherche professionnelle puisqu'elle ne permet pas de trouver les marques similaires et les enregistrements internationaux désignant la Suisse.
L'IPI, mais aussi diverses institutions privées proposent des recherches professionnelles de marques, y compris les recherches de marques similaires et d'enregistrements internationaux désignant la Suisse.

Le service de règlement des différends pour noms de domaine .ch a été instauré en vue de régler les différends en matière de droits à des noms de domaine.

Plus d'information sur le règlement des différends

Registrars pour .ch

Enregistrement de nouveaux domaines .ch: veuillez choisir un des registrars.
Noms de domaine déjà enregistrés: pour les changements, veuillez vous adresser au registrar qui gère votre nom de domaine.

Liste de tous les registrars

Recherche de noms de domaine (Whois)

Le nom de domaine que vous souhaitez est-il encore libre?

Recherche noms de domaine