How to Become Accredited Registrar

Requirements

  • Own customer service staff - you are responsible for responding to all customer queries.
  • Ability to implement the EPP technical interface and submit all forms of request using it. This ability will be tested in a trial run in which all EPP functions must be executed as specified.

If you are interested in working with us, please contact us at registrar@nic.ch.

Documents

Agreement

Registrar Agreement

Appendix 1

Interface Agreement

Appendix 2

Contact Data

Appendix 3

Authorisations and Procedures

EPP Manual

EPP User Manual

 

Questions concerning the Registrar Agreement

Here are answers to questions which have been received by the Registry concerning the Registrar Agreement.

Section 5.3 - Use of the electronic interface

What is meant by the following provision?

"The Registrar shall guarantee that its servers will function for the receipt of messages from the Registry and that it will actively obtain and process messages using the Registry's registration system. The Registrar is solely and fully liable to its customers for any damages resulting from the failure of its servers or from the failure or delay in obtaining or processing messages from the Registry and shall, according to Section 5.17, fully indemnify and hold harmless the Registry against any claims made against the Registry by holders of domain names in connection therewith."

This provision relates to the sending and receiving of EPP orders by the Registrar. The use of the EPP interface is governed by Appendix 1 to the Registrar Agreement. With regard to the liability and indemnification of the Registry, the liability and indemnification - as explained in the provision - only relates to failures of the Registrar's systems and servers. The Registrar shall not be liable for failures of the Registry's systems and servers.

Section 5.10 paragraph 2 - Data maintenance

Must I as Registrar check the Swiss Official Gazette of Commerce (SOGC) every week?

Data of the holder of a .ch domain name should be as correct and complete as possible, as is reflected for example in Art. 17 (2) lit. d of the Ordinance of 5 November 2014 on Internet Domains (OID, SR 784.104.2) - "Process for reviewing identification information" - in conjunction with Art. 46 OID - "publicly accessible data, WHOIS database".

Since after the end customer business with .ch domain names has been transferred the Registrar is the sole contractual partner of the Registry (no contractual relationship between the Registry and the holder of the domain name), it is necessary to impose the data maintenance obligation on the Registrar. The Registrar is in turn free to impose this obligation on its customers. Checking the Swiss Official Gazette of Commerce (SOGC) is meant to be an example of how the Registrar can comply with this data maintenance obligation. It is of course free to also do this in another appropriate manner.

Section 5.13 - Cooperation on technical and legal problems

What if my national law prohibits me from reporting certain information to the Registry?

Despite the aforementioned obligation, mandatory national statutory law, of course, still applies to the Registrar. However, Art. 16 and Art. 23 OID also stipulates statutory cooperation duties which affect all registrars for .ch domain names. If there is a conflict we recommend that the Registrar clarifies the appropriate procedure with a legal expert.

Registrars for .ch

Registering new .ch domain names: Please select a registrar.
Domain names that are already registered: Please contact the registrar administering your domain name for any changes.

List of all registrars

Wie werde ich anerkannter Registrar?

Bedingungen

  • Eigener Kundendienst: Sie sind selbst für jegliche Fragen von Endkunden zuständig.
  • Fähigkeit, die technische Schnittstelle EPP zu implementieren und jegliche Anträge darüber zu stellen. Diese Fähigkeit wird in einem Testparcours getestet, bei dem alle EPP-Funktionen gemäss Vorgabe durchgeführt werden müssen.

Bei Interesse an einer Partnerschaft kontaktieren Sie uns bitte unter registrar@nic.ch.

Dokumente

Vertrag Registrarvertrag
Anhang 1 Schnittstellenvertrag
Anhang 2 Kontakte
Anhang 3 Berechtigungen und Vorgehensweisen
EPP Benutzerhandbuch EPP Benutzerhandbuch

 

Fragen zum Registrarvertrag

An dieser Stelle werden Fragen beantwortet, die zum Registrarvertrag bei der Registerbetreiberin eingegangen sind.

Ziff. 5.3 - Verwendung der elektronischen Schnittstelle

Was ist mit folgender Bestimmung gemeint?

"Der Registrar garantiert, dass seine Server zum Empfang von Mitteilungen der Registerbetreiberin funktionieren und er Mitteilungen aktiv beim Registrierungssystem der Registerbetreiberin bezieht und verarbeitet. Der Registrar haftet ausschliesslich und vollumfänglich für die sich aus einem Ausfall seiner Server oder der Versäumnis oder Verspätung der Abholung bzw. Verarbeitung von Mitteilungen der Registerbetreiberin ergebenden allfälligen Schäden gegenüber seinen Kunden und hält die Registerbetreiberin gegenüber allfälligen Ansprüchen, welche Halter von Domain-Namen im Zusammenhang damit gegenüber der Registerbetreiberin erheben, gemäss unten Ziff. 5.17 schadlos."

Bei dieser Bestimmung geht es um Versand und Empfang von EPP-Befehlen durch den Registrar. Die Benutzung der EPP-Schnittstelle ist durch den Anhang 1 zum Registrarvertrag geregelt. Was die Haftung und Schadloshaltung der Registerbetreiberin betrifft, so geht es - wie in der Bestimmung ausgeführt - um die Haftung und die Schadloshaltung nur für Ausfälle der Systeme und Server des Registrars. Bei Ausfällen der Systeme und Server der Registerbetreiberin haftet der Registrar nicht.

Ziff. 5.10 Abs. 2 - Datenpflege

Muss ich als Registrar jede Woche das Schweizerische Handelsamtsblatt (SHAB) kontrollieren?

Daten des Halters eines .ch-Domain-Namens sollten möglichst korrekt und vollständig vorliegen, was unter anderem in Art. 17 Abs. 2 lit. d der Verordnung vom 5. November 2014 über Internet-Domains (VID, SR 784.104.2) - "Verfahren zur Überprüfung der Identifizierungsangaben" - in Verbindung mit Art. 46 VID - "öffentlich zugängliche Daten, WHOIS-Datenbank" - zum Ausdruck kommt.

Da der Registrar nach erfolgter Ablösung des Endkundengeschäfts mit .ch-Domain-Namen einziger Vertragspartner der Registerbetreiberin ist (keine Vertragsbeziehung zwischen der Registerbetreiberin und dem Halter des Domain-Namens), ist es notwendig, diesem die Pflicht zur Datenpflege zu überbinden. Der Registrar ist frei, diese Pflicht seinerseits seinen Kunden zu überbinden. Die Kontrolle des Schweizerischen Handelsamtsblatts (SHAB) ist als Beispiel zu verstehen, wie der Registrar dieser Datenpflegepflicht nachkommen kann. Er ist selbstverständlich frei, dies auch auf andere geeignete Art zu tun.

Ziff. 5.13 - Zusammenarbeit bei technischen und rechtlichen Problemen

Was, wenn mein nationales Recht mir verbietet, der Registerbetreiberin gewisse Informationen weiterzuleiten?

Trotz der obengenannten Pflicht bleibt zwingendes nationales Gesetzesrecht natürlich auf den Registrar anwendbar. Mit Art. 16 und Art. 23 VID werden aber auch gesetzliche Pflichten zur Zusammenarbeit statuiert, die alle Registrare für .ch-Domain-Namen betreffen. Im Konfliktfall empfehlen wir dem Registrar, das geeignete Vorgehen mit einer juristischen Fachperson abzuklären.

Registrare für .ch

Neue .ch-Domain-Namen registrieren: Bitte wählen Sie einen der Registrare.
Bereits registrierte Domain-Namen: Bitte wenden Sie sich für Änderungen an den Registrar, der Ihren Domain-Namen verwaltet.

Liste aller Registrare